Booktalked Favorites

Twice a year, in the fall and spring, I do booktalks at a nearby middle school. This year I started visiting another middle school and their excitement about the books I brought was just thrilling! I have been doing this for three years now, and usually every time I end up with at least one or two duds in the group of books I bring. This spring was the first time there were kids wanting to read all ten books. There were no duds!

These are the books I shared with around 300 seventh and eighth grade students this month:

Awkward by Svetlana Chmakova

Roller Girl by Victoria Jamieson

The Great Greene Heist by Varian Johnson

Orbiting Jupiter by Gary Schmidt

The Boys Who Challenged Hitler by Phillip Hoose*

The War That Saved My Life by Kimberly Bradley

The Apothecary by Maile Meloy

The Iron Trial by Holly Black

The Siren by Kiera Cass*

Illuminae by Amy Kaufman*

*book trailers

A week later, I am still having kids coming in and asking for these books! They are all great picks for middle school kids.

3 thoughts on “Booktalked Favorites

  1. AWESOME! I’m gearing up for my Middle School visits next month. Do you have any of the booktalks typed up that you could share? I would love to take your talks and then tweak them to my own voice, since I don’t have time to read all these awesome books. 🙂

Leave a Reply

