A Tried and True Storytime Plan

At my location, I am the teen and baby programmer so I don’t often get to do preschool storytime. I really lucked out this week though, because we had3 outreach events scheduled so I got to do a preschool/family storytime 3 whole times! Of course, being the Summer-Reading overloaded librarian that I am, I planned one great outline and used it at each event. Which is a really great idea unless, you know, the same family happens to show up at two of them! That did happen to me, but luckily they didn’t seem to mind. In fact, they seemed rather pleased to already know the words to the songs. And so, without further ado, here is my tried and true storytime plan, used 3 times in one week to great success!

51jDt0txanL._SX258_BO1,204,203,200_ im-the-biggest-thing-in-the-ocean-copy

 

 

 

 

jump

index

 

 

 

 

Sing: The More we Get Together (with ukulele!)

Read: Llama Llama Red Pajama by Anna Dewdney

Sing: Mary Wore Her Red Dress

Fingerplay: Open Them, Shut Them

Read: Jump! by Scott M. Fischer

Sing: Mmm Ah Went the Little Green Frog

Mmm ahh went the little green frog one day
Mmm ahh went the little green frog
Mmm ahh went the little green frog one day
And they all went mmm mmm ahhh!!

We all know frogs go shanananana
shanananana shanananana
We all know frogs go shanananana
shanananana shanananana
They don’t go mmm mmm ahh.

Little blue fish: blup blup, kissy kissy kiss

Flannel Board: Little Mouse, Little Mouse

Read: Count the Monkeys by Mac Barnett

Rhyme: 5 Little Monkeys

5 little monkeys sitting in a tree
hold up five fingers
Teasing Mr. Alligator, “Can’t catch me!”
put thumbs in ears and waggle fingers
Along came the alligator quiet as can be
put palms together like an alligator mouth and weave back & forth
And SNATCHED that monkey right out of the tree!
open palms wide and clap loudly on “snatched”

Read: I’m the Biggest Thing in the Ocean by Kevin Sherry

Sing: If You’re Happy and You Know it (with ukulele!)

There was no theme to this storytime, just books I love to read! The first time I did it, I used Oh No! by Candace Fleming, but afterwards I decided I didn’t like the way that flowed as a read aloud and I wanted something more interactive. So I swapped it for Count the Monkeys, which was a GREAT decision.

It was my first time using a song I learned from Jbrary’s AMAZING youtube channel and the kids loved it! They are a super great resource for storytime songs, so if you haven’t yet, be sure to check them out! I’m also getting so much better at playing my opening and closing songs on the ukulele. I think I’m ready to start branching out and adding more ukulele songs to my plans!

Leave a Reply

