The Hub Reading Challenge

2014_hub_reading_challenge_logo_participantThis year I am participating in The Hub Reading Challenge. Now, I am not much of a reading challenge person. I’ve considered doing various challenges, like the Shelf Challenge or the 48 Hour Book Challenge. They always sound awesome and fun to start out with, but then I realize I just want to be able to read whatever I want and I don’t want to read books I’m not in the mood for!

But the Hub Reading Challenge is doable, I think. The challenge is to read 25 books between February 3 and June 22.  Not just any books, but books off a list of 2013 YALSA award winners and honors. There are something like 60 books to choose from, and a great variety of adult titles for teens, graphic novels, audiobooks, etc. So it comes down to a little more than one book a week, which I should theoretically be able to do and still read other books if I want do (and oh do I want to).

The hardest thing about this challenge is that I already read so many of the books on the list last year as they were coming out! For them to count towards the challenge, I would have to re-read them during the Feb-June period. And really, who has time to re-read books when there are always new books coming out every day? But that means most of the books left on the list are books I would not normally read on my own, so I do have to go out of my comfort zone and push myself to try reading new things. But hey, isn’t that the whole point of a reading challenge anyway?

The funny thing is that I consider myself a fast reader, but whenever I go to the weekly Hub Reading Challenge Check In I am SHOCKED, shocked I tell you, at how many books my fellow readers have read. Like some people have already read over 30 books, or more! It astounds me. As of today, I am at 12 books. But hey, I guess that means I’m halfway done! (Also, I tried this challenge last year and I only got to 10 books, so I’m already doing better than I did before!)

So now I’ll finally get to the good part and talk about a few of my favorite Hub Challenge books I’ve read this year.

13221769Beautiful Music for Ugly Children by Kirsten Cronn-Mills

Gabe was born a girl and his name was Elizabeth. But he has always known he was boy. This story takes place as Gabe is transitioning and going public as identifying as male. But what makes this book so great is that it is so much more than a story about transgender issues. It is about music and friendship and identity and the courage to live and speak your truth.

Relish by Lucy Knisley15786110

I had heard a lot of good things about this foodie graphic novel memoir and they were all true. Lucy Knisley writes (and draws) about her life growing up surrounded by gourmet chefs, food critics, and all around good food. Each section tells a different story from her growing up years and of course ties it all to food and ends with a recipe. I expected the book to be a little snobby but found it to be just the opposite.  I loved the stories about relationships and growing up and found a lot to relate to even though my upbringing did not have nearly so many fancy cheeses!

16231347The Adventures of Superhero Girl by Faith Erin Hicks

I am a huge fan of Faith Erin Hicks. I even got to meet her at ALA last summer! I totally wish now I had bought a copy of The Adventures of Superhero Girl and had her sign it because I really loved this book! The comic was originally posted online as a webcomic and I am so glad it has been compiled and printed in paper to reach a wider audience. The story follows Superhero Girl, a girl with your average superpowers just trying to get by. It is very charming and very funny and a really great read.

Charm & Strange by Stephanie Kuehn 16045088

There is no real way to talk about this book without giving too much away. The story alternates between the present and the past. Andrew Winston Winters used to go by Drew. Back then he was a nine-year-old tennis star with anger issues. Now he goes by Win, attends a New England boarding school, and tries to avoid other people. As the story progresses and more and more is revealed, this book will break your heart.

16151178The Sea of Tranquility by Katja Milljay

Apparently I’m really into books that pack an emotional punch right now, because this one is another hard-hitter. Nastya and Josh are two teens with tragic histories. Nastya has just started at a new school and is doing everything she can to keep people at a distance. She has taken a vow of silence and has not spoken in nearly two years. But she finds herself drawn to Josh, a young man in her woodworking class who also keeps people at a distance. Can their relationship save both of them?

 

Leave a Reply

