February Lapsit

This month my storytime babies were on the older end. I had twos and almost twos, plus one big brother who I was happy to use as a helper! Looking back, I reused a lot of the same songs as my Teddy Bear lapsit in December, but they were all great songs so it never hurts to repeat!

Opening Song: “Hello Everybody” 

Hello everybody, and how are you?
How are you? How are you?
Hello everybody, and how are you?
How are you today? 

We repeat this song using each child’s name to welcome them to baby storytime. I love the way hearing their name grabs their attention and makes them feel welcome. It really helps me learn their names too!

Bubbles and Music: “Teddy Bear Hug” by Raffi 

I would like to get to where I don’t use recorded music at all, but I’m not there yet. For dancing and blowing bubbles, nothing is easier than popping in a tried and true CD.

Fingerplay: Open Them Shut Them

Read: Uh-Oh! by Rachel Isadora 

This book has lovely illustrations of an African American child making messes and trying to be independent throughout the day. I always thing this book is sweet and charming, but when I am reading it in front of parents, I start feeling a little awkward about the message it sends, especially for older toddlers. I can just imagine what is going through the parents’ minds – don’t give my child any ideas about making messes! But it so accurately depicts life with little ones at this age that I think I’ll keep using it.

Sing: Skinnamarink 

Sing (with ukulele!): Mary Had a Little Lamb

Okay, so this was my debut performance on the ukulele. I had been practicing for about 3 weeks, but a combination of many things meant I didn’t get as much practice time as I would have liked. Mary Had a Little Lamb went surprisingly well. I had the children hold up flannel board pieces of lambs I pulled together from various sets to get them involved in the song. They really enjoyed that.

Read: I Like it When… by Mary Murphy

This book is pitch perfect for its bold black, red, and primary color illustrations and depictions of daily interactions between a parent and child. It helps that they are penguins too. Kids love penguins!

Sing (with ukulele!): If You’re Happy and You Know It

This song was more of a fail. I couldn’t transition to the different chords quickly enough and it quickly fell apart. The parents kept singing along and I just laughed and said, “I think this one needs a little more practice!” And that was the moment I decided to take the ukulele home to get more practice time.

Dancing with Rainbows Ribbons

These toddlers sure loved dancing! And it sure helped that the parents got into it too! We danced to a couple songs and the kiddos still wanted more!

Goodbye Song

Clap, clap, clap your hands
Clap your hands together.
Clap, clap, clap your hands
Clap your hands together. 

La la la la la la la, la la la la la….

Wave, wave, wave goodbye.
Wave goodbye together.
Wave, wave, wave goodbye.
Wave goodbye together

La la la la la la la, la la la la la….

Leave a Reply

