Green, Green, Green!

Last week I had a very successful story time with our visiting day care group, so I thought I’d share. The day care comes weekly to visit our library with a class of three-year-olds. This week the theme was all about green! We had a lot of fun with this one.

Opening Song: Open them, shut them. This same group of kids has been visiting the library for over 6 months now, so they love singing this song with me and doing the hand motions at the start of every visit.


Story: Little White Rabbit by Kevin Henkes. This is such a lovely and thoughtful story by one of my very favorite authors. There are a lot of lovely soft greens in the illustrations, and on one page the rabbit wonders what it would be like to be green. The children enjoyed the magical illustrations and wondered different things along with the rabbit.

Song: Five Fat Peas.

Five fat peas in a pea pod pressed. (show fist)

One grew, two grew, so did all the rest. (count with fingers)

They grew and they grew and they did not stop. (show growth with arms)

Until one day the pea pod POPPED! (clap hands)

Story: Green Wilma by Ted Arnold. This is an odd little story but the children thought it was hilarious! Wilma wakes up green one morning and only wants to eat flies! I really enjoyed making the group laugh with this story.

Rhyme: This is a Turtle. 

This is a turtle.

He lives in a shell. (show fist)

He pokes his head out (poke out thumb)

when he wants to eat.

And he pulls it back in (hide thumb in fist)

When he wants to sleep.

Story: Where is the Green Sheep? by Mem Fox. This is now one of my favorite books to read out loud! I haven’t had this much fun reading a story in a long time. The kids enjoyed this story so much. They participated after each time I asked, “But where is the green sheep?” and their answers were so cute! Usually, “We don’t know where he is?” And they really enjoyed following along to solve the mystery of the green sheep. Definitely going to read this one again soon.

Song: Shake your Wiggles Out!

Story: The Very Hungry Caterpillar by Eric Carle. Can’t go wrong with this classic. I love the shouts when I pull this book out: “I have this one at home!” I always tell them I am glad they are reading books at home.

Hope you’ve enjoyed this very green storytime. Come back soon for more!

Leave a Reply

